Business Starting and Event Making in SL

For those wanting to start an event in SL, the thing to easily remember is that communication (which is the key foundation of the internet) is key to business.

I read the articles assigned for this blog entry, and I must say… they really haven’t taught me anything new.  All I got out of it all was, “If you want to run a business, look like one.  If you’re going to hold an event, treat it like an event in real life.”  Well, yeah, but is there anything else I should know?

And the answer is… of course, but how much do I want to hear on what I probably would have guessed on my own?  It’s one thing to say, “I’m going to go around SL and tell everyone about this event.” It’s another thing to do so.  And even then, with the right advertising, promotions, and setup to the right audience, there’s always the possibility that very few people will be interested, or they will have a stronger relationship with another company for goods.

But, starting a company in SL is like starting a company in RL.  There will be risks… just the risks are far less in SL than RL.

Even then, I still think the only real profit to be made in SL would be in real estate.  You’ll never go poor in SL if you have land to sell.

~ by Cliff Huizenga on October 30, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
